Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Our Curriculum

How we support your child’s learning and development

There are seven areas of learning and development within the EYFS through which your child will be gaining knowledge, learning skills and showing understanding. These areas form the basis of the activities we provide for your child, alongside their unique interests and needs, and enable us to plan for their progress.

Click on the Prime areas below to see the ethos of our curriculum.

Prime areas of learning and development

Specific areas of learning and development

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design





Characteristics of Effective, Teaching and Learning

These areas are connected, with learning and development in each area contributing towards that of the others. Building confidence in the prime areas of learning and development is particularly important for children, as it enables them to progress well in the specific areas of learning and development. As we support your child towards achieving the early learning goals for each of these areas of learning, we aim to tailor the opportunities we provide to meet their personal learning and development needs.